Sensuality, Sexuality, Spirituality Entwined


I have been noticing lately, that as I grow in my spirituality through my involvement with the Prayer and Life Workshops Bacolod, I seem to be getting … uhm… “more easily turned on”– by a picture here, a gesture there, a line from a song somewhere.

And then I remember how this happened to me too during the early years of my meditation practice since I started meditating in December 2006.  Is this just me, or what?

So I searched again, and this is what I found.  Very relieved to know!

Your sensual and sexual nature are real. They are fundamental to who you are. The energy “lives” in the root and 2nd chakras, and for most, this energy stagnates there. And then people complain that their life is not stimulating, fun, inspired, passionate and creative. Most people just put up with this. Many are the people who have had “bad” experiences in this area and “stick there,” refusing to move past the accumulated pain, judgment, and distress. Neutral or worse.

Others shut down and pretend to be “spiritual.” They live in their heads and deny their bodies. (Hair shirts, anyone?) Ungrounded spirituality is senseless (get it ??) and foolish, and unworkable. You can be spiritual when you are dead. In the mean time, grounding into all of your feelings is crucial.

Now, some of those feelings will be uncomfortable. If you breathe into them and accept them as a part of you, they will release you from their thrall. And you will move past neutral.

Sensual experience is not a head experience. You’ll not find a satisfactory explanation for why it is essential that we feel, and feel deeply. Rather, to move beyond neutral, there must be a surrendering into the feelings, and a surrendering of the need to know.”

via Sensuality, Sexuality, Spirituality Entwined.

Leave a Reply

