Floating with the tide: how a biologist ended up on an island resort and stayed there


This was originally posted in April 2012 yet but I’m reblogging it here now because I’m planning to take my kids and I to El Nido for summer vacation. 🙂

Environment and Sustainability

When you think of possible jobs for a Biology graduate, the tourism industry isn’t exactly the first thing that comes to mind, even more so if the potential employer is a luxury island resort. Yet here I am almost five years and a graduate program later, still at my first job as an Environmental Officer for El Nido Resorts in El Nido, Palawan and loving every day of it.

I found out about the job through the most mundane way possible: a university job fair. As I wandered through the maze of company booths, at a loss on what to do for the next phase of my life, ENR’s images of white sand and blue water were siren calls that cut through the haze and endless chatter.

As an Environmental Officer for Miniloc Island Resort, one of my most important and most rewarding duties is to be the “main point of contact for environmental expertise for guests and staff”…

View original post 1,273 more words

Leave a Reply

